The City Mouse and The Country Mouse

I decided it was time to find a new doctor–one with whom I felt more comfortable…and one where I felt heard and not rushed out the door. So I got a good recommendation from a friend to try a new place in North Raleigh.

I had an intake appointment today, which is a precursor to an actual physical. I left provincial little Apex and headed north, up US-1 to the Beltline and off onto Six Forks. Then wound through North Raleigh to the Spring Forest/Atlantic Ave intersection. I mean, this was NORTH Raleigh.

Some days I think I could live in the “big” city. But then I leave my open, provincial Apex and drive in the big city and realize that I like the provinces. I like living near the big city. Not so much in it. And there certainly is a qualitative difference between the two.

Ironic, this realization. Especially since my fantasy upgrade life is a loft in midtown some really, truly big city, with lots of black and white in the interior.

Of course, my other fantasy upgrade life is a newly renovated house on the edge of historic downtown Apex.

What can I say? I like the Peak of Good Living.

Leave a Reply

