I’d Rather Be Reading

I have literally a few hundred books on my Amazon wishlist…and probably another 50 or so in my library already just waiting for my attention. And I’d like nothing more right now than to spend time with them. And I need to spend more time with my face in a book, both for professional and personal reasons.

 

One of my bookmarks is currently in Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. You might know it because of the movie adaptation or because it’s on that dang list of 100 books we all should have read by now. If you’ve never read it, it’s a delightful surprise and a captivating wonder…and the way I’d rather spend my time this morning. Alas, reality calls.

 

Other books in the queue:
Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters

From Beirut to Jerusalem

A Wall in Palestine

Gideon’s Spies

Guests of the Ayatollah

The Media Relations Department of Hizbollah Wishes You a Happy Birthday

In the Land of Invisible Women

The Ayatollah Begs to Differ

Queen Bees and Wannabes (I’m about 30 pages in)

Water for Elephants

The Corrections

I Drink for a Reason

Millionaire Babies or Bankrupt Brats?

Exlusion and Embrace

Community: The Structure of Belonging (Thanks, Justin)

Raising Cain

The Purity Myth

Fast Food Nation (finally)

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

And hopefully a bunch of other fiction that’s on the wish list. We’ll see how far I get this year, and how my meandering through books changes. Stay tuned, too, because I’m setting up a separate blog for book reviews from what I read. You know, in case you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

