The Cowardly Lion

I know I’ve been saying it for a long time, but it’s true.

I need to graduate and get a big girl job.

And I’m working towards that.* But then comes the question: WHAT job?

Whatever I can find?

Whatever presents itself and says, “Here I am,” while wildly waving its arms?

Something I’m good at?

Something I like?

I dunno.

But I’m scared that with whatever job I choose I’ll get “stuck” there. Not in an “I hate my job but I just can’t leave it” kinda way but in an “I’m so comfortable here and it’s known and easy and where in the hell did the time go?” kinda way.

I mean, I don’t have any grand schemes to change the world. I’d like to. I just don’t know what that looks like for me yet–if changing the world was ever meant to go on my CV. I think I’m just scared that I’ll lack the courage to move beyond what is known and familiar and…well…easy…ish.

Good thing my word for the year IS “courage.” Because it’s hard work to find it to be able to engage in the not so easy stuff of life.

*Note: I wrote this post while trying to motivate myself to write the Method section…which is the ONE section of a dissertation that kinda sorta actually writes itself. Oy.

One thought on “The Cowardly Lion

  1. Look at how simple the solution was for the Cowardly Lion! All that stress and worry and really he just needed a little toddy from the Wizard. I’m pretty sure it was vodka. Probably a Bloody Mary, in fact. You should have one yourself. It has your name on it! (Nobody ever named a drink “Lisa,” sadly.)

    Srsly — you’ll get one job, and then you may get a different one. Everybody does that these days. Gone are the days of the Company Man, thank heavens. You’d look awful in those suits.

Leave a Reply

