The Colonel’s Mistake: A Book Review

I found myself part of another resource for books to review and am happy to branch out of the usual reviews of theological work. And this was a good first pick.

In The Colonel’s Mistake by Dan Mayland, Mark Sava retired from the CIA as the Azerbaijan station chief but stayed in Baku to become a professor and lead a quiet life. Upon learning that an Iranian-American CIA operations officer has been committed of a crime she likely did not commit, Sava finds himself sucked back into the life he left behind–and a multi-national intelligence war involving Iran, China and the U.S.

I think this is the first novel I’ve read that used a more obscure former Soviet Republic as the primary setting, followed by Iran, Dubai, a French village, and Washington DC. Mayland used them all very well. The characters were gritty, relatable, and reasonably developed–although I don’t feel like I got to know them well. There were sub-plots and twists and turns in this book that drove the main plot and could have been more developed in places. However, this book almost made me an irresponsible adult because I was so reluctant to put it down. The story was fast-paced and gripping all the way through. Mayland has a solid grasp of the region, the politics, and the way things might go down behind closed doors. As a first book, this one is solid. I look forward to more of Dan Mayland and Mark Sava in the future.

********************************************

You should know that I received an advanced copy of this book for free in exchange for a review–or not. These opinions are mine alone…although I do think you should get your hands on this book and read it. For real.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

